Dream Big Challenge: Week Four – Course Correction

“Course corrections are spiritual interventions.  They occur when you live in constant denial or ignore your errors rather than being honest and confronting them.  Although such a mediation can be painful, it is your saving grace in the end.”—Sonia Choquette

Sometimes we need a course correction and when we don’t do it on our own, the universe is often happy to oblige.    This week I received an unwanted kick in the butt regarding my Dream for creating a comforting and peaceful home environment.  My BIG DREAM was to walk through my front door and sigh with contentment.  When I divided this dream into bite size pieces that I could sink my teeth into, there were pieces that I embraced with joy and others that I avoided, conjuring up millions of excuses to do anything else.

Paperwork is a beast that I have never been able to conquer.  When I clear off one table or filing cabinet, it morphs and suddenly four new surfaces are buried under paper.  This winter, I finally got the surfaces of my house cleaned by dumping all my paper into my office.  The result was that I couldn’t work there and had to move to my kitchen table.  Although I knew I had to deal with the growing mounds of paper for this challenge, I found it much easier to re-grout my bathroom.  After finishing the bathroom, it was time to move to my office.  Instead, I pulled out my list looking for an easier piece of the puzzle to a comforting home.  A new rug for the front entrance way…that was something I could do.  So I started locking the doors to go shopping for a rug, when somehow I locked myself in the backroom by my office.  I had no way to get back into the main house.  I had no phone, purse, car keys or jacket.

Hmm, Sunday afternoon, I could go visit a neighbor or begin working on the paper.  Two hours later, I had made a major dent through the mess when someone arrived home.  If not for this forced imprisonment, I think I would have done everything on my list before tackling that room.  Those two hours gave me the jumpstart to plow through the most difficult pieces of my challenge.  The elephant on my back was the mounds of paper.  It was probably the most important piece of my dream puzzle and I’m happy to report that most pieces of paper have been filed or recycled.

Is there an important task that you’re ignoring for your Dream Big challenge?  This week, look at your dream and priorities and instead of waiting for a nudge from the universe, make your own course correction.

Remember to leave a comment on all the DREAM BIG posts to be eligible to win one of the prizes!

11 responses to “Dream Big Challenge: Week Four – Course Correction

  1. Course corrections as spiritual interventions. Yes, I believe that! And sometimes they kick us completely off course in order to get us back where we belong. I’m the one who started Week 1 with the dream of finishing the book my husband and I were writing together when he died. Well, for half a year I’ve been struggling about what to do with his ashes. This week I was editing someone else’s book as a way of avoiding work on my own. Something in that manuscript unexpectedly handed me my answer. So I’m stepping off course for a time–setting my book aside while I make arrangements and follow through with that. But I believe the resolution will free me to come back and finish our book. ~ Paula M. aka cagmom

  2. An important step. Sending you good vibes this week.

  3. I’ve had a couple of course corrections myself. Cancer brought me back to writing. Thank you for reminding me. I’d really rather avoid having another one. (-:

    Best,
    Carolyn Howard-Johnson
    Excited about the new edition (expanded! updated! even more helpful for writers!) of The Frugal Book Promoter, now a USA Book News award-winner in its own right (www.budurl.com/FrugalBkPromo)

  4. Thanks for stopping by. I too prefer self-imposed course corrections.

  5. This is so like me. I have to plan a get-together in my home to motivate myself to get through the piles. A week ago was the first birthday for my publishing company so I threw a party – planned the night before and publicized on FB only. I correctly estimated that probably nobody would come on such short notice, but it did wonders for me in that I sorted through many piles of papers and organized like nobody’s business for fear someone would come. It worked and I celebrated online just the same for a little publicity.

  6. I don’t need a prize, just wanted to leave this quick comment to say…keep up the good work!

  7. The clutter in my house is not part of my dream big challenge, but I can relate to your struggle with the piles of paper asI have the same issue and put it off the same way. I’ve been doing really well with my challenge though. 🙂

    • Glad to hear your challenge is going well. I have tackled some pieces of the puzzle regarding paper clutter, that I’ve put off for ever, so I’m feeling great.

  8. Looking round my paper clutter in despair. But lately the council provided us with a large recycling bin so the old newspapers and magazines are going out in chunks. A five day visit from friends started the house tidy and I was amazed at how much I got through by ignoring the computer for a couple of days. The email posts have piled up though…
    So cheering to read of others with the same problems. It really depresses me to be so messy but somehow the paper piles up.

Leave a Reply

