Dream Big Challenge: Week 3 – Hit the Rewind Button

We are half-way through the 4 week Dream Big Challenge!

First pat yourself on the back for showing up even if you didn’t meet your goal.  If you’re having doubts about this challenge, tell the chirping monkey in your mind to knock it off.  Our monkey mind only sees what we didn’t achieve instead of what we accomplished.  So acknowledge yourself for showing up.  I even gave myself a present for getting this far.  I love to garden, so I bought a new gardening magazine while at the grocery store.

Now, it’s time to review what happened while working on your dream.  Did you meet your goal 85% of the time instead of 100 percent?  Did you run into some resistance?  Make sure you muzzle your chirping monkey mind while attempting to look at the resistance.  Your monkey mind is sure to tell you, you’re not good enough….you screwed up….you’ll never make it…You get the idea.  Instead try and uncover the underlying emotion, belief or action that blocked you from reaching 100% of your goal.

Once you have your answer it’s time to hit the rewind button and start again.  According to Issacson, Steve Job’s biographer, Jobs believed that everything that he had done correctly, required one moment when he hit the rewind button and corrected something he didn’t see at the outset of the project.   We are going to rewind the steps from the first two weeks and modify them so we can achieve 100%.

  • Envision your dream – Did you didn’t interact with a visual or auditory reminder of your dream each day.  If not, find a way to make it happen each morning.   I love post-it notes on the mirror. One of our Big Dreamers Mona Pease has a virtual cork board for her vision which she sees every time she turns on her computer.
  • Dissecting the dream into small action steps – Were your actions steps doable in a short period of time?  If not then cut them into smaller pieces.
  • Carving out time for action steps – Here’s where most people hit their resistance.  If this is where you struggle, spend some time reflecting on the underlying block to your dream.  Once you become clear about your block, it diminishes its power.

For those of you at 100% keep dreaming and for the rest of us that are not quite there, hit the reset button.  This added focus will help push you forward.

Remember to leave a comment to be eligible to win one of the Dream Big prizes.

9 responses to “Dream Big Challenge: Week 3 – Hit the Rewind Button

  1. I think I am doing okay on pursuing my dream. I’m starting some new projects that help keep me focused, which helps me immensely.

  2. Nancy Carty Lepri

    Very nice!

  3. I’m starting on a mystery short story that I’ve been “planning” to write for ages!

  4. Chirping monkey mind–what a great metaphor! Alas, my blocks are often external. Example: I deliberately arrived half an hour early for a meeting, found an empty room (not the meeting room), and started to write. It took about two minutes for someone to see me there, come in, sit down and start talking. Sigh. REWIND: choose a place where nobody can see me!

  5. H’m. Obviously I don’t understand WordPress. I was Paula M. on the last two weeks’ posts, and now it has reverted to my username instead of my signature. I really am the same person!

  6. I’ve been very clearly focused on my dreams and even took new steps in the direction of making those dreams a reality. I’m loving every step of this journey!

Leave a Reply

