Receiving Messages from the Other-Side

“If you look deeply into the palm of your hand, you will see your parents and all generations of your ancestors.  All of them are alive in this moment.  Each is present in your body.  You are the continuation of each of these people.” –Thich Nhat Hanh

In January, two people I knew died on the same day.  One was the mother of one of my son’s friends—Norma Rodriguez.  She died after a long struggle with breast cancer.  The other was my friend Scott Swanson.  He was in his thirties and had battled congenital heart issues all his life.  As I pulled into the parking lot of the funeral parlor for Norma’s wake a song came on the radio.  It caught my attention, I parked and listened. 

 “This is my temporary home
It’s not where I belong
Windows and rooms that I’m passin’ through
This is just a stop, on the way to where I’m going
I’m not afraid because I know this is my
Temporary Home.”

I had never heard this song before, didn’t know who was singing it, but thought what a fitting sentiment. 

Jump ahead to the weekend…

It‘s Saturday afternoon, and I’m driving out to Illinois Math and Science Academy for the memorial service for Scott.  As I pull in the parking lot, that song again came on the radio.  I pull over, laughed and thought—its Scott saying hello.  You see as Scott’s mom would say, I one of Scott’s woo woo friends.  By woo woo she means someone who knows that we can connect with things that we don’t see.  I was part of his spiritual community.

When I got home, I searched the internet and discovered that the song was “Temporary Home” by Carrie Underwood.  I have not heard that song on the radio again.  Skeptics would say it’s just a coincidence that you’re reading too much into.  But as someone who is willing to be called a woo woo friend, I know that it was a “Scott sighting”.  Thanks Scott for saying hello.

This week:  Suspend disbelief and be open to the possibility of a magical connection.

 Peace and Blessings,

Mary Jo

Leave a Reply

