Forget Resolutions…Just Dream!

 

May all your troubles last as long as your New Year’s resolutions.  ~Joey Adams

Happy New Year.  I’ve been waiting for some downtime to get back to my writing.  It seems I’m often waiting for some event to get myself back on track.  But then life happens…this time it was out of town guests.  We’ve had guests in our house since December 4th—first my mother-in-law, then my brother and his family, and now friends of my older son.  I expect the house to empty out on January 20th.   I could make that my target date to get on track, start those New Years Resolutions…but actually I don’t make resolutions.

Historically, I can keep my New Year’s resolution through most of January.  A really good year will find me sticking to my resolutions through the first week of February.  Maybe I should call them January resolutions, at least then I could feel successful.

So now, instead of New Year’s resolutions, I take some time to dream.  What do I want my life to look like?  What do I want to accomplish?  Once I have a clear vision of my dream, I develop my action goals.  I frame my goals so they are achievable in the moment.  Instead of a resolution to write daily (that never works for me), I commit to engaging in activities that support my writing life.   Instead of a resolution to meditate more, I commit to spending time deepening my connection with spirit.  These are goals I can accomplish. With these goals, I can feel successful.  Every moment focused on a goal, builds momentum.  Momentum creates action and action brings results. Each moment that I put action towards one of my goals, feeds my belief that I can achieve my dreams.  Only through believing in your dreams will you achieve them. Our lives are filled with detours and delays, but in any moment you can choose to embrace a dream and take a small action towards your life’s vision.

This Week:  Dream…Envision the life you want!  Then, a moment at a time, take action towards your dream.

Peace and Blessings,

Mary Jo


8 responses to “Forget Resolutions…Just Dream!

  1. What a great way to look at the new year. We always seem to take a glass-is-half-empty approach to change. I think I need to rewrite some sticky posts on my wall … Thank you.

  2. Thanks for reminding us about the gifts of dreaming–do you know From Where You Dream: The Process of Writing Fiction by Robert Olen Butler? It’s jumpstarted me on some writing projects. (I picked you up off the list from the Comment Challenge–great discovery!) Meg Lippert (StorySleuths, #95 on the list)

    • One of my favorite quotes from “Where You Dream:…” by Butler is “Art does not come from ideas. Art does not come from the mind. Art comes from the place where you dream. Art come from your unconscous; it comes from the white-hot center of you.”

      Mary Jo

  3. January resolutions?! Love it! Found you through the Comment Challenge!

  4. The best New Year’s resolution I heard this year was from a friend who decided to drink more water. That sounds totally do-able!

    I do agree that we should focus on our dreams and how to acheive them.

  5. I think dreaming to visualize and set your goals is an excellent way to look at the coming year. Many times people fail to look into the future and take stock of what it really is that they want. But I also know too many people who realize their goals but never take any steps to fulfill them.

    So I’d say you’re having a great year already. Good luck!

  6. I don’t believe there is any such thing as downtime! I remember being told as a child to stop daydreaming. Glad I didn’t listen 🙂 May you never stop dreaming.

  7. I never make new years resolutions because I really never got the point. I figure that if you want to actually make some changes in your life, then you would at any given point of the year. Why wait for a specific date unless it has some significance other than it being the “it-thing” to do.

Leave a Reply

